For Authors

The quarterly American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology (AJSLP)—an online-only, international, peer-reviewed scholarly journal—has been published continuously since 1991.

Online ISSN: 1558-9110
Print ISSN: 1058-0360


AJSLP publishes peer-reviewed research and other scholarly articles on all aspects of clinical practice in speech-language pathology. The journal is an international outlet for clinical research pertaining to screening, detection, diagnosis, management, and outcomes of communication and swallowing disorders across the lifespan as well as the etiologies and characteristics of these disorders. Because of its clinical orientation, the journal disseminates research findings applicable to diverse aspects of clinical practice in speech-language pathology. AJSLP seeks to advance evidence-based practice by disseminating the results of new studies as well as providing a forum for critical reviews and meta-analyses of previously published work.


The broad field of speech-language pathology, including aphasia; apraxia of speech and childhood apraxia of speech; aural rehabilitation; augmentative and alternative communication; cognitive impairment; craniofacial disorders; dysarthria; fluency disorders; language disorders in children; speech sound disorders; swallowing, dysphagia, and feeding disorders; and voice disorders.

Impact Factor

The 2017 Journal Citation Reports® (Clarivate Analytics, 2018) Journal Impact Factor is 1.713, and the 5-year Impact Factor is 2.343. AJSLP ranked 12th of 25 journals in the Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology category and 33rd of 65 journals in the Rehabilitation category of the Science Citation Index Expanded, as well as 29th of 181 journals in the Linguistics category and 26th of 69 journals in the Rehabilitation category of the Social Science Citation Index.


Julie Barkmeier-Kraemer, PhD, CCC-SLP (2018–2020)
Division of Otolaryngology – Head & Neck Surgery
University of Utah
50 N Medical Drive, 3C120
Salt Lake City, UT 84132
Phone: (801) 585-7143


Stacy Betz, Indiana University – Purdue University Fort Wayne (2018–2020)
Shelley B. Brundage, George Washington University (2017–2019)
Mary K. Fagan, Chapman University (2018–2020)
Erinn Finke, The University of Tennessee Health Science Center (2017–2019)
Rita R. Patel, Indiana University Bloomington (2018–2020)
Anastasia M. Raymer, Old Dominion University (2018–2020)
Li Sheng, University of Delaware (2017–2018)
Nancy Pearl Solomon, Walter Reed National Military Medical Center (2018–2020)
Kristie Spencer, University of Washington (2017–2019)
Debra Suiter, University of Kentucky (2018–2020)

Editorial Board Members

Hayley S. Arnold, School of Health Sciences, Kent State University
Kirrie J. Ballard, The University of Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Anne Bothe Marcotte, University of Georgia
Chris Brebner, Flinders University, Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Angela Hein Ciccia, Case Western Reserve University
Heather M. Clark, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
James Coyle, University of Pittsburgh
Elizabeth Erickson-DiRenzo, Stanford University
Kelly Farquharson, Florida State University
Pui Fong Kan, University of Colorado Boulder
Memorie M. Gosa, University of Georgia
Margaret Greenwald, Wayne State University
Mark Guiberson, University of Wyoming
Pamela A. Hadley, University of Illinois at UrbanaChampaign
Nancy E. Hall, The University of Maine
Edie Hapner, Keck School of Medicine of University of Southern California
Stacy M. Harnish, The Ohio State University
Jill Hoover, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Jessica Huber, Purdue University
Aaron Johnson, New York University School of Medicine
Michael Kimbarow, San Jose State University
Jennifer Kremkow, Elmhurst College
Jacquie Kurland, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Erika Levy, Teachers College, Columbia University
Ciara Leydon, Sacred Heart University
Kenneth Logan, University of Florida
Lynn Maher, University of Houston
Bonnie Martin-Harris, Northwestern University
Jillian McCarthy Maeder, The University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Monique T. Mills, The Ohio State University
Giovanna Morini, University of Delaware
Maura Jones Moyle, Marquette University
Bill Ogletree, Western Carolina University
Miranda Rose, La Trobe University, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Donna R. Scarborough, Miami University
Linda Shuster, Western Michigan University
Jeff Sigafoos, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
Patti Solomon-Rice, San Francisco State University
Kristine Tanner, Brigham Young University
Deborah Theodoros, The University of Queensland, St. Lucia, Brisbane, Australia
Amber Thiessen, University of Houston
Michelle S. Troche, Teachers College, Columbia University
Mark VanDam, Washington State University
Amanda J. Owen Van Horne, University of Delaware
Elizabeth Ward, The University of Queensland, St. Lucia, Brisbane, Australia

Instructions for Authors

For general instructions, please download our Author Instructions PDF. For complete details on how to prepare your manuscript and submit it to AJSLP, please consult the Author Resource Center on the ASHA Journals Academy.

This PDF is available to Subscribers Only

View Article Abstract & Purchase Options

To access this pdf, log in to an existing user account, become an associate, or purchase a short-term subscription.

This Issue Buy Now